An independent panel of judges will review and select all British Farming Award winners. There will be a short telephone interview for all shortlisted entries, which you can find the dates for on the Frequently Asked Questions page.

The panel of judges are specific to each category, including one sector expert, one leading farming figure in the field and last year’s category winner. Each category is facilitated by a Farmers Guardian journalist.


Agri-Tech Innovator of the Year

Agricultural Student of the Year

Arable Farmer of the Year

Beef Farmer of the Year

Contractor of the Year

Dairy Farmer of the Year

Digital Innovator of the Year

Diversification of the Year (Small/ Medium)

Diversification of the Year (Large)

Family Farming Business of the Year

Farm Worker of the Year

Farmers Guardian Farming Hero

Grassland Farmer of the Year

New Entrants Award: Against the Odds

Outstanding Contribution to British Agriculture

Sheep Farmer of the Year

Sustainable Farmer of the Year